2 minutes read

Qatar emerges as favourite destination for GCC Citizens during Eid Holidays

Qatar emerges as favourite destination for GCC Citizens during Eid Holidays

During the recent Eid holidays, a significant number of citizens from the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) countries opted to visit Qatar and engage in a variety of activities and entertainment programmes on offer across the nation. Thousands of holidaymakers from neighbouring GCC states, including Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates, and Bahrain, were drawn to Qatar due to its diverse range of attractions and events.

As families from the GCC countries gathered in Doha for the annual Eid Al Fitr celebrations, it was not uncommon to see hundreds of Saudi, Emirati, and Bahraini number plates throughout the city. Popular tourist destinations, such as Souq Waqif, Katara, and Lusail Boulevard, saw a surge in footfall, with many visitors sporting traditional attire that signified their nationalities.

In an interview with Doha News at Souq Waqif, a Saudi tourist expressed his delight at spending the Eid holidays in Qatar. “We drove in with our family from Riyadh to come and spend Eid with our family in Qatar. Qatar is beautiful, and it has developed majorly since the last time we came,” the man stated, adding, “God willing, we will remain brothers, and our doors will stay open for one another.”

Industry experts and observers anticipated an upswing in hotel occupancy rates during the Eid Al-Fitr holiday, which can be attributed to several factors, including the recent launch of the revamped Hayya platform. Ahmed Hussein, a tourism specialist, informed the Qatar News Agency (QNA) that the Hayya platform played a significant role in boosting the number of visitors to Qatar, with expectations for hotel occupancy rates to rise from 70% to 80% during the Eid Al-Fitr period.

The updated Hayya platform now offers four visa types: a tourist visa for individuals of any nationality, a GCC Resident visa for all professions, a visa for escorts of GCC citizens, and the Electronic Travel Authorization visa (ETA), which is available without restrictions for all visa holders and residents of the Americas, Canada, Schengen countries, Britain, New Zealand, and Australia.

Editor's pick